Light It Up Red - Autism Acceptance


Find your local Day of Mourning vigil site

February 21, 2017

In the past five years, over four hundred people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents, relatives or caregivers.

On Wednesday, March 1st, the disability community will gather across the nation to remember these disabled victims of filicide – disabled people murdered by their family members or caregivers.

In the year since our last vigil, our community has lost 100 more people to filicide. These are just the cases that we are aware of – since we began monitoring this issue, we learn about more murders every week. We read the victims’ names, see their photographs, and gather what information we can about their lives. The criminal justice system has continued to give lighter sentences to parents and caregivers who murder disabled children. And we have seen both news and entertainment media continue to portray these murders in a sympathetic light.

We hold the Day of Mourning vigils to draw attention to these injustices, to commemorate the lives of victims, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities.

For the last six years, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, the American Association of People with Disabilities, and other disability rights organizations have come together to send a clear message that disability is not a justification for violence. We’ll be at our local vigils on Wednesday, March 1st – and we hope to see you there.

2017 Vigil Sites

USA

ARIZONA Tucson, AZ Tom Racey, cornelius41389us@gmail.com

CALIFORNIA Berkeley, CA Dolores Tejada, dolorestejada@gmail.com

Los Angeles, CA Daniel Au Valencia, danielauvalencia@gmail.com

Port Hueneme, CA Karen Reilly, karen@oceanviewinfo.com

Sacramento, CA Ashley Robertson, asansacramento@gmail.com

FLORIDA Tallahassee, FL Elizabeth Wang, ew12b@my.fsu.edu

Tampa, FL Cat Daly, cdalyjordan@gmail.com

GEORGIA Atlanta, GA Bennett Gaddes, bennettgaddes@gmail.com

ILLINOIS Chicago, IL Amanda Burkhart, asanchicagoland@gmail.com

MASSACHUSETTS Boston, MA Finn Gardiner, fgardiner@autisticadvocacy.org

Salem, MA Hala O’Keeffe, halaokeeffe@aya.yale.edu

MICHIGAN Grand Haven, MI Asa Rosema, asarosema@gmail.com

MISSOURI Kansas City, MO Spencer Hunley, spencer.hunley@gmail.com

NEVADA Reno, NV Deidre Hammon, csdlibrary@gmail.com

NEW JERSEY Edison, NJ Carole Tonks, ctonks@adacil.org

NEW YORK Bronxville, NY Emma Graydon, egraydon@gm.slc.edu

New York City, NY Elizabeth Rosenzweig, rosenzweig.ea@gmail.com

Purchase, NY Michelle P Mitchell, michelle.mitchell@purchase.edu

Rochester, NY Ericka Jones, ejones@cdrnys.org

Syracuse, NY Elly Wong, emwong@syr.edu

NORTH CAROLINA Asheville, NC Christiania Mullis, cmullis@unca.edu

Rocky Mount, NC Joshua White, whitejd4@appstate.edu

OREGON Portland, OR Rebekah Hunter rebekahahunter@gmail.com

PENNSYLVANIA Pittsburgh, PA Cori Frazer, cori@autisticpgh.org

TEXAS The Woodlands, TX Kristin Ongeri, elephantkristin@gmail.com

TENNESSEE Nashville, TN Chad Beadles, justmechadlyb@gmail.com

Pulaski, TN Candace Henshaw, daemion2011@hotmail.com

UTAH Salt Lake City, UT Stacy Stanford, stacykstanford@gmail.com

VIRGINIA Manassas, VA Mary Lopez, mlopez@ieccil.org

Williamsburg, VA Haley Outlaw, hnoutlaw@email.wm.edu

WASHINGTON STATE Seattle, WA Zack Siddeek, Zsiddeek@yahoo.com

WASHINGTON, DC Ma’ayan Anafi, maayan.anafi@gmail.com

CANADA

Vancouver, BC Vivian Ly & Sam McCulligh, vivianly4@gmail.com; sam5@shaw.ca

Winnipeg, MB Baden Gaeke Franz, asanwinnipeg@gmail.com

Halifax, NS Alex Kronstein, alexkron@live.ca

Guelph, ON Jennifer Howell, howell@alumni.uoguelph.ca

London, ON LAST (London Autistics Standing Together), LondonAutistics@gmail.com

AUSTRALIA

Brisbane Caitlin McGuren, caitlin.mcguren@gmail.com

Sydney Robin Eames, robin.m.eames@gmail.com

Virtual vigil

Featured Posts
Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2013 BY Sacred Hoop Inc. dba SpectrumPink a 501c3 Public Charity